A bout the Hall
Old School Hall sits next to the Ancient Parish Church of East Farleigh, high above East Farleigh Marina and looking out into the Medway Valley. A Grade II listed building, the hall’s ragstone walls and arched mullion windows are a typical example of Victorian Gothic architecture.
The hall was built in 1846 as a result of a public subscription for a school raised by the Reverend Henry Wilberforce, son of famous slave trade abolitionist William Wilberforce. The children of the village were educated in the hall until 1930. To this day the school bell still hangs from a cote on the eastern face of the building.
Since 1956 Old School Hall has been a centre for local community activities, including the highly regarded East Farleigh Preschool, the Parish Council, and the local Brownie pack.
Old School Hall remained in the ownership of the Canterbury Diocese until Mandy and Gary took over care of the building in 2011. They continue to operate the lower floor as a community facility and an events venue and are in the process of converting the upper floor to a living space.
A bout Mandy and Gary
Mandy and Gary are the duo that run Old School Hall. Mandy brings her meticulous attention to detail, enthusiasm for the local community, and love of a good old fashioned paper diary to the team, while Gary brings his flair for interior design, building restoration work, and ability to talk to just about anybody. They keep busy, also dealing antiques, performing as musicians, and having experience in event planning.